Scientists for Cycling

The Scientists for Cycling network, launched at the Velo-city Global 2010 conference in Copenhagen, arises from the recognition that there is a large number of experts worldwide in many different academic disciplines who are able and ready to contribute to ECF’s mission: to improve and to increase cycling.

Research, research plans and scientific-based publications on cycling or cycling-related matters are often not sufficiently connected to (the networks of) other scientists, to professionals and to volunteers who work on cycling. The Scientists for Cycling network is designed to bridge this gap.

Here is a leaflet presenting the ‘Scientists for Cycling‘ network.

Who can join the S4C network

Academics or anybody actively engaged in applied research, teaching and dissemination from all disciplines interested in cycling or cycling-related topics.

How to apply

Please fill in the ‘Scientists for Cycling’ application form and return it to the ECF (via e-mail to, Fax +32 2 880 92 75 or post: ECF – rue Franklin 28, 1000 Brussels).

S4C application form

S4C leaflet

Advisory board members




Field of expertise

Mr. Manfred Neun Germany ECF (President) Economy, psychology, sustainable mobility development, cycling advocacy
Dr. Jason Chang Taiwan National Taiwan University ITS, Sustainable Development, Cycling and Public Transport
Dr. Peter Cox United Kingdom University of Chester, Faculty of Social Science Social change
Dr. Bas De Geus Belgium Free University of Brussels, Faculty of Physical Education and Physical Therapy Human physiology
Dr. Regine Gerike Germany Technical University Dresden Environment and transport, mobility research, mobility management
Dr. Martin Held Germany Protestant Academy Tutzing Economy, sustainable development
Dr. John Parkin United Kingdom London South Bank University Civil Engineering / Transportation Engineering and Planning
Ms. Francesca Racioppi Italy World Health Organization Injury prevention, manager of the programme “Accidents, transport and health
Supporting ECF staff members
Dr. Bernhard Ensink  The Netherlands ECF (Secretary General) Theology, philosophy, ethics, politics, advocacy, mobility, cycling

2011 advisory board members and ECF supporting staff members:

From left to right: Original advisory board members Dr. Bas De Geus, Dr. Martin Held, ECF staff members Dr. Bernhard Ensink and Dr. Florinda Boschetti, advisory board members Dr. Peter Cox and Mr. Manfred Neun. Missing are: Ms. Francesca Racioppi and Dr. Lars Gemzøe.


Velo-city Nantes Scientific Colloquium on 2 June 2015

Last Updated September 14, 2015